The Church Year is made of up of six seasons and a number of Festival Days. 

The seasons are:


Advent, Christmas, Epiphany, Lent, Easter & Pentecost


Feast Days are:


Christmas, The Naming of Jesus, Epiphany, The Baptism of Christ, The Transfiguration, Easter, The Ascension, Pentecost, Trinity, All Saints Day & Christ The King


These seasons do not follow the calendar year from January to December but instead follow the life of Jesus from the preparation for his birth in Advent through to his ascension into heaven.  Each Liturgical Season is denoted by a particular colour which is used in church for altar coverings and clergy vestments.